How To Come Back From The Dead

So I haven’t written anything here in ages (though I swear I was totally going to anyway…)

Anyway if you are here you are probably here from Reddit so that’s why the resurgence of interest from me. Also would it kill you to throw a like my way.

BTW I know I need to go back and actually spell check everything I wrote previously because re-reading is a bit painful even for me. But I’m a little dyslexic and I wasn’t expecting anyone to ever actually read this.

 

On to what I actually wanted to talk about. Resurrection.

Resurrection is a great and rather Jesus-y theme in Harry Potter. Obviously Harry stages a come back and every character that dies reappears in some form at some point. Despite much insistence that death is final and necessary.

But the particular resurrection I want to talk about is Voldemort’s. Of course he can’t really resurrect because he can’t really die but he gets a body back. It’s interesting that Horcruxes work so badly. Like, you can’t die but you can get stuck as a useless spirit for 13 years and no one seems very clear on how you come back. Possibly there are ways and you would hope Voldemort had researched them (otherwise *cough* oversight – also could he not have considered a Philosopher’s stone as a back up? Too hard to make I guess.) but in the end he’s relying on a ‘potion of his own invention’ (though it is based on an older spell I think) and he can’t make it back without the help of an able bodied servant in the form of Wormtail.

 

We see the main ingredients to that potion and it’s effects but what we never really see is how Voldemort gets his previous, rudimentary, body.

JK Rowling has this to say on the subject:

“There are two things that I think are too horrible, actually, to go into detail about. One of them is how Pettigrew brought Voldemort back into a rudimentary body. ‘Cause I told my editor what I thought happened there, and she looked as though she was gonna vomit. And then– and the other thing is, how you make a Horcrux. And I don’t even like– I don’t know. Will it be in the Encyclopedia? I don’t know if I can bring myself to, ummm… I don’t know.”

So the basic consensus seems to be that what happened was that Voldemort ripped a fetus out of Bertha Jorkins and used it to make his first body. This is based on the following:

  1. Voldemort’s first body is described as fetus-y
  2. Voldemort tends to possess things
  3. They talk a lot about how useful Bertha Jorkins was and are super creepy
  4. Bertha ends up mentally and physically damaged beyond all usefulness.

If you really want to get dark then there’s another theory that Pettigrew rapes her to impregnate her.

I don’t know how I feel about this (Ok, I do, I feel gross about this) but it does seem to fit the facts so. Yeah. One to consider.

4 thoughts on “How To Come Back From The Dead

  1. Wow that Bertha Jorkin’s theory is creepy beyond all reason. And to think, I describe Harry Potter to my family as being ‘whimsical and lighthearted’.

    Have you read Cursed Child yet? There’s a ton of stuff in there you could probably address if you plan on writing more blog entries. Which, yanno, would be cool. I like your blog.

      • No way! I’ve heard the atmosphere/effects are great on stage, so it probably makes up for some of the issues in the story. Hope you enjoy! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. As a stage production, it is enchanting. It’s wonderful to see the trio acted so well, if you get my drift, and the cast really are incredibly talented.

    As a story, it is appalling beyond anything I have ever experienced. Including all the Potterflaws combined. Then x10.

Leave a comment